About ACC PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Sunday, 11 May 2008 09:54
The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) was re-established by the Prevention of Corruption Act, 2006 after the repeal of the Prevention of Corruption Order of 1993. The Commission was re established in 2008, under new leadership comprising the Commissioner, and two Deputy Commissioners. The Commission is currently under the leadership of Acting Commissioner Mrs Lillian X. Zwane.

The performance of the previous Commission that was set up under the Order of 1993 was hindered by a number of factors. There was a lack of capacity, inadequate resources and also lack of political will. There was also a legal wrangle about the legality of the legislation that constituted it. The Commission stopped functioning. The result is that the present Commission, after it had been constituted under the Act in March 2008 had to start implementing the mandate afresh.

The core objectives of the Commission are to prevent and combat corruption and to achieve zero tolerance on corruption. This could be achieved by and through implementation of the provisions of The Prevention of Corruption Act of 2006 as well as interacting with other partnerships.

The Government of Swaziland had commissioned a number of consultancies to look at the problem of corruption in Swaziland. In due course, the National Anti Corruption Strategy and Action Plan was produced in 2007. However, the National Strategy has not been implemented.
Last Updated on Thursday, 18 June 2015 10:22